Established in 1969, the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation is the second largest inter-governmental organization after the United Nations. The organization states that it is the collective voice of the Muslim world, safeguarding and protecting the interests of the Muslim world in the spirit of promoting international peace and harmony among various people of the world. The OIC has permanent delegations to the United Nations and the European Union. The OIC has 57 members*, 56 of which are also member states of the United Nations. The collective population of OIC member states is approximately 1.68 billion as of 2014.

The OIC commended the Islamic Reporting Initiative in 2015.

Under Charter of the OIC, the Organization aims, inter alia, to:

  • Enhance and consolidate the bonds of fraternity and solidarity among the Member States;
  • Safeguard and protect the common interests and support the legitimate causes of the Member States and coordinate and unify the efforts of the Member States in view of the challenges faced by the Islamic world in particular and the international community in general;
  • Respect the right of self-determination and non-interference in the domestic affairs and to respect sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity of each Member State;
  • Ensure active participation of the Member States in the global political, economic and social decision-making processes to secure their common interests;
  • Reaffirm its support for the rights of peoples as stipulated in the UN Charter and international law;
  • Strengthen intra-Islamic economic and trade cooperation; in order to achieve economic integration leading to the establishment of an Islamic Common Market;
  • Exert efforts to achieve sustainable and comprehensive human development and economic well-being in Member States;
  • Protect and defend the true image of Islam, to combat defamation of Islam and encourage dialogue among civilizations and religions;
  • Enhance and develop science and technology and encourage research and cooperation among Member States in these fields;

In order to realize these objectives, Member States shall act, inter alia, in accordance with the following principles:

  • All Member States commit themselves to the purposes and principles of the United Nations Charter;
  • Member States are sovereign, independent and equal in rights and obligations;
  • All Member States shall settle their disputes through peaceful means and refrain from use or threat of use of force in their relations;
  • All Member States undertake to respect national sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity of other Member States and shall refrain from interfering in the internal affairs of others;
  • Member States shall uphold and promote, at the national and international levels, good governance, democracy, human rights and fundamental freedoms, and the rule of law.

Arab Republic of Egypt



Federal Republic of Nigeria

Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

Islamic Republic of Iran

Islamic Republic of Mauritania

Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Kingdom of Bahrain

Kingdom of Morocco

Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Kyrgyz Republic



People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria

People’s Republic of Bangladesh

Republic of Albania

Republic of Azerbaijan

Republic of Benin

Republic of Cameroon

Republic of Chad

Republic of Cote d’Ivoire

Republic of Djibouti

Republic of Gabon

Republic of Guinea

Republic of Guinea-Bissau

Republic of Guyana

Republic of Indonesia

Republic of Iraq

Republic of Kazakhstan

Republic of Lebanon

Republic of Maldives

Republic of Mali

Republic of Mozambique

Republic of Niger

Republic of Senegal

Republic of Sierra Leone

Republic of Somalia

Republic of Suriname

Republic of Tajikistan

Republic of The Sudan

Republic of Togo

Republic of Tunisia

Republic of Turkey

Republic of Uganda

Republic of Uzbekistan

Republic of Yemen

State of Kuwait

State of Palestine

State of Qatar

State of The United Arab Emirates

Sultanate of Oman

Syrian Arab Republic

The Islamic Republic of The Gambia


Union of The Comoros